Governor DeSantis Applauds Senate Confirmation of Executive Agency Heads

May 02, 2019

Tallahassee, Fla. – Today, Governor Ron DeSantis issued the below statement following the Florida Senate’s confirmation of the Governor’s Executive Agency Heads.

“I am proud of the team we have assembled to lead our agencies, which include some of the brightest minds and leaders our state and nation have to offer,” said Governor DeSantis. “I’d like to thank the Florida Senate for confirming my appointments and for recognizing their leadership and talent. I am confident they will advance our shared mission to serve and protect Floridians.”

The following executive appointments were confirmed today by the Florida Senate:

  • Mary Mayhew, Secretary, Agency for Health Care Administration
  • Barbara Palmer, Director, Agency for Persons with Disabilities
  • Halsey Beshears, Secretary, Department of Business and Professional Regulation
  • Chad Poppell, Secretary, Department of Children and Families
  • Kenneth Lawson, Executive Director, Department of Economic Opportunity
  • Richard Prudom, Secretary, Department of Elder Affairs
  • Noah Valenstein, Secretary, Department of Environmental Protection
  • Simone Marstiller, Secretary, Department of Juvenile Justice
  • James “Jim” Poppell, Secretary, Department of the Lottery
  • Jonathan Satter, Secretary, Department of Management Services
  • Mark Inch, Secretary, Florida Department of Corrections
  • Laurel Lee, Secretary of State, Florida Department of State
  • Kevin Thibault, Secretary, Florida Department of Transportation


An equal opportunity employer/program.  Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
All voice telephone numbers on this website may be reached by persons using TTY/TDD equipment via the Florida Relay Service at 711.
You have selected a link to a website that is outside of the domain. Control of the content of this website belongs to the website's owner and not to Florida Commerce.