

Programs Eligible for Special Designation Score

Updated: 4/26/2022

Allof the "Non-Entitlement" counties and municipalities listed below are eligible for Special Designation Points on their Small Cities CDBG Application for Funding. Communities that have been designated as "Entitlement Communities" by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) because they receive CDBG funding directly from HUD or they have opted to participate in an Entitlement Community's CDBG program are not eligible to apply for Small Cities CDBG funding.

General Scoring Criteria – Table G-3 FFY 2021-2022 Small Cities CDBG Application for Funding

Areas of Critical State Concern

The Areas of Critical State Concern Program protects natural resources and public facilities of major statewide significance. Designated areas of critical state concern are:

Apalachicola Bay Area (the City of Apalachicola);

Key West Area (the City of Key West);

Florida Keys Area (the cities of Layton, Key Colony Beach, Islamorada and Marathon, and unincorporated Monroe County);

Green Swamp Area (portions of northern Polk and southern Lake counties); and

Big Cypress Area (portions of Collier County, mainland Monroe County and Miami-Dade County).

Rural Areas of Opportunity (RAO)

Rural Areas of Opportunity (RAO) are defined as rural communities, or a region composed of rural communities, that have been adversely affected by extraordinary economic events or natural disasters. The Governor by executive order may designate up to three RAOs, which establishes each region as a priority assignment for REDI agencies and allows the Governor to waive criteria of any economic development incentive including, but not limited to: the Qualified Target Industry Tax Refund Program under section 288.106, F.S., the Quick Response Training Program and the Quick Response Training Program for participants in the welfare transition program under section 288.047, F.S., transportation projects under section 288.063, F.S., the Brownfield redevelopment bonus refund under section 288.107, F.S., and the rural job tax credit program under section 212.098, F.S., and section 220.1895, F.S.

Florida's Designated RAOs

Northwest Rural Areas of Opportunity: All communities within Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Liberty, Wakulla, Washington counties, and the area within the city limits of Freeport, and Walton County north of the Choctawhachee Bay and the intercoastal waterway.



Programs Eligible for Special Designation Score

Updated: 4/26/2022

South Central Rural Areas of Opportunity: All communities within, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, and Okeechobee Counties, and the Cities of Pahokee, Belle Glade, and South Bay (Palm Beach County), and Immokalee (Collier County).

North Central Rural Areas of Opportunity: All communities within Baker, Bradford, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Putnam, Suwannee, Taylor and Union Counties.

Rural Communities

The following counties that are not included in one of the three Rural Areas of Opportunity, and all municipalities within, are designated as "rural" under section 288.0656, Florida Statutes:

Flagler County Nassau County

The following communities that are not located in a designated rural county have been designated as "rural" until the expiration date shown:

L	
Community (County)	Expiration Date
Astatula (Lake)	May 27, 2022
Dundee (Polk)	March 3, 2023
Fellsmere (Indian River)	April 10, 2023
Fort Meade (Polk)	February 5, 2024
Frostproof (Polk)	April 29, 2022
Hawthorne (Alachua)	July 7, 2023
High Springs (Alachua)	January 9, 2023
Indiantown (Martin)	March 27, 2023
Jay (Santa Rosa)	November 6, 2023
Lake Wales (Polk)	November 25, 2022
Pierson (Volusia)	June 8, 2022
Umatilla (Lake)	April 22, 2023
Webster (Sumter)	May 27, 2022



Programs Eligible for Special Designation Score

Updated: 4/26/2022

Commercial Revitalization Applicants Only Other Community Development Activities Score – Table C-2

Florida Main Street Program

Florida Main Street is a technical assistance program administered by the Bureau of Historic Preservation, Division of Historical Resources, Florida Department of State, for traditional historic commercial corridors.

The Bureau conducts statewide programs aimed at identifying, evaluating, and preserving Florida's historic resources. Main Street, with its emphasis on preservation, is an effective strategy in achieving these goals in Florida's historic retail districts.

Throughout Florida there is a growing interest in improving the appearance and economic stability of historic downtown business districts. In many communities, the downtown is in a serious state of decline. Effective solutions to the problems of deteriorating building stock, loss of business, and the waning economic strength of downtown are crucial to the survival of the city itself. The following CDBG-eligible communities have been designated as Main Street Communities:

Arcadia Fernandina Beach Okeechobee Wauchula Brooksville Havana Ormond Beach Zephyrhills Chattahoochee Labelle Okeechobee Crestview Lake Wales Ormond Beach Crystal River Newberry Stuart DeFuniak Springs New Port Richey Vero Beach