



Eagle Award

The Eagle Award honors individuals who soar to new heights in their efforts to serve employers and workers in the United States. Recipients of this honor are recognized for their contribution to workforce development, unemployment insurance, employment, or labor market information services.

AWARD CRITERIA: The individual must:

- be a senior official of a state workforce agency or other agency/organization responsible for workforce development, unemployment insurance, employment, or labor market information services (each state may define "senior official" appropriate to its personnel policies and practices); and
- have demonstrated outstanding leadership in improving the quality and success of workforce services to America's employers and workers (such quality and success can be demonstrated in any service delivery system, support service, and/or administrative and management function).

NOMINATION REQUIREMENTS: *The nomination must:*

• be submitted by July 7, 2006;

Eagle Award Recipients

- 2005 Deborah Lincoln, Director, Oregon Employment Department Governor Dirk Kempthorne, Idaho Governor Mark R. Warner, Virginia
- 2004 James G. Neeley, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development
- 2003 Roosevelt "Ted" Halley, Executive Director, South Carolina Employment Security Commission
- 2002 Honorable Mike Johanns, Governor of Nebraska
- 2001 Alfonzo Dave, Jr., Los Angeles Division Chief, California Employment Development Department
- 2000 Honorable Jim McCrery, Louisiana's Fourth Congressional District

Dr. J. Parker Chesson, Jr.,

- contain a completed Eagle Award nomination form [PDF] or [Word];
- contain the answer to the question listed on the Eagle Award nomination form within the prescribed word limit;
- include a statement of approval from the agency administrator; and,
- be the only nomination for that state in that category.

NOMINATION PROCEDURES:

If submitting via e-mail: E-mail to naswa@naswa.org (Subject line should read "Eagle Award Nomination")

If submitting via hard copy, mail to: NASWA, 444 N. Capitol St. NW, Suite 142, Washington, DC 20001, Attn: Eagle Awards. (Include 4 copies of nomination packet).

SELECTION PROCEDURES:

The NASWA Board of Directors will designate from among its members an annual awards committee which will review all nominations received and select the award recipient.

NASWA STAFF CONTACT: Rich Hobbie

E-mail: <u>rhobbie@naswa.org</u>Phone: (202) 434-8020

Return to Workforce ATM Home Page

Chairman, North Carolina Employment Security Commission

1999 - Honorable Michael O. Leavitt, Governor of Utah

> Robert L. Garcia, Interim Chief Deputy Director, California Employment Development Department

1998 - Honorable Tom Ridge, Governor of Pennsylvania,

Cynthia Eisenhauer, Director, Iowa Workforce Development

1997 - Honorable George V. Voinovich, Governor of Ohio

1996 - Dr. Robert E. "Jack" David, Executive Director, South Carolina Employment Security Commission

> Honorable Robert B. Reich, Secretary, U.S. Department of Labor

About NASWA/CESER | Order CESER Products | Classified Ads | Feedback | Forgot Your Password? | National Conferences | Site Map | FAQ

The information on The Workforce ATM is provided in partnership with the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment & Training Administration.