FLORIDA MINIMUM WAGE TO INCREASE ON JULY 24
TALLAHASSEE – On July 24, 2009, the new Federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour will replace Florida’s current rate of $7.21 per hour. Federal law requires employers to pay the higher minimum wage, whether federal or state. The minimum wage applies to all employees in the state who are covered by the federal minimum wage.
Florida law requires the Agency for Workforce Innovation to calculate a new minimum wage each year on September 30, based on the Consumer Price Index. If that calculation is higher than the federal rate, the state’s rate would then take effect the following January.
The minimum wage is different for tipped employees. Florida’s current rate is $4.19 per hour plus tips and will increase to $4.23 on July 24th with the new federal minimum wage.
Employees who are entitled to receive minimum wage but are not paid the minimum wage may bring a civil action against the employer or any person violating Florida's minimum wage law. The Florida Attorney General may also take action to enforce the minimum wage.
Florida Statutes require employers who must pay their employees the Florida minimum wage to post a minimum wage notice in a conspicuous and accessible place in each establishment where these employees work. This poster requirement is in addition to the federal requirement to post a notice of the federal minimum wage. Florida's minimum wage poster is available for downloading in English and Spanish from the AWI’s Web site at: http://www.floridajobs.org/workforce/posters.html.
For more information on the minimum wage, please visit www.floridajobs.org. For information on the minimum wage in other states, please visit http://www.dol.gov/esa/minwage/america.htm. For the U.S. Department of Labor’s press release, go to: http://www.dol.gov/opa/media/press/esa/esa20090821.htm