

MEMORANDUM

DATE: March 26, 2024

TO: Local Workforce Development Boards

Keantha B. Moore Keantha B. Moore, Chief, Bureau of One-Stop and Program Support FROM:

SUBJECT: Local Workforce Development Area Designation and Local Workforce

Development Board Composition and Certification

The purpose of this memorandum is to notify Local Workforce Development Boards (LWDB) of the upcoming due date to submit applications for new or subsequent Local Workforce Development Area (LWDA) designation and LWDB composition rosters. LWDAs that are consolidating or realigning counties due to Florida's Transformation Plan will be required to submit a request to be designated as a new LWDA. All other LWDAs will submit a request for subsequent designation.

In keeping with the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), the Governor may approve a request at any time for designation as a LWDA from any unit of local government, including a combination of such units, if the state workforce development board (state board) recommends designation after determining that the area:

- Is consistent with the local labor market area;
- Has a common economic development area; and
- Has the federal and non-federal resources available to the proposed LWDA, including appropriate education and training institutions, to administer activities under the WIOA youth, adult, and dislocated worker formula programs.

The state board will grant subsequent designation to a LWDA if, for the two most recent program years, the LWDA performed successfully and sustained fiscal integrity. Additionally, the state board must certify each LWDB as required under section 107, WIOA.

Requests for new LWDA designation, subsequent LWDA designation, and LWDB composition rosters are due on or before close of business May 6, 2024. Please email the completed documents to FloridaCommerce at LWDBGovernance@commerce.fl.gov.

Attachments: Request for New Local Workforce Development Area Designation

Request for Subsequent Local Workforce Development Area Designation

LWDB Composition Roster

cc: Dee Robinson Isabelle Potts Shawn Brown Christa Nelson Adam Briggs Warren Davis